Computers and radiation

edited July 2023 in Tech
Does anybody here know a lot about physics and radiation? I do not know too much.

Everybody here at my office has at least a slight concern over radiation seeping through their monitors. This has come up in multiple conversations with people before, and they've at times told me stuff like like how keeping plants near a monitor helps absorb the radiation.

I'm not too good with physics, because I haven't studied it in about 8 years or so. But I'm pretty sure it doesn't work like that.

I'm looking stuff up now online, but a lot of the websites I come across seem to talk about new-age bullshit, with one of them trying to hawk $50 Ch'i (sic) talismans to absorb radiation.

Anyone here an expert on this kind of thing? There's going to be a 90 minute seminar on maintaining good health in the office, and there's a good chance this is going to come up. I'd like to know a little more SCIENCE before I go in.

Comments

• edited January 2009
    Well yes, computers and monitors give off radiation, everything electronic does. Everything electronic gives off Electro-Magnetic Radiation.

But the amounts are so crazily small that you're not going to suffer any damage from it. Indeed, I think Electro-Magnetic radiation is harmless...
  • edited January 2009
    Radiation is simply the moving of energy the type they are concerned about is uv and that is barely almost not even emitted by monitors.
  • edited January 2009
    Well, the radiation in CRT monitors could maybe be harmful? There is stuff about it on Wikipedia. Also, they contain a sigificant amount of lead. LCD montitors and radiation seem very much at odds to me. It's a totally different technology and I'd think they are quite harmless. Nothing beyond the electromagnetic radiation stuff from the electricity. Which is to my knowlege harmless.